My Miliary Career Part#7…”meetin’ My “Military Brat” Bride”.

AB JOHN W. Gray, USAF, Basic Training, Lackland AFB, San Antonio, Tx, July 25, 1971
I was very diligent workin’ to get my Drivers License. I made it on my 1st try. I bought me a Used Car, 1965 Fiat 1500 with a 4-speed on the column. I was “Mobile”! I also saved enough money to purchase an Engagement Ring as a Christmas (1971) Present & we were plannin’ on a Christmas Weddin’ for 1972. I couldn’t get back but my Girlfriend accepted it, long distance as I was on the phone, when she was given her Christmas Present. All was right with my life. In Feb of 1972 I moved off of base to an apartment in Kindsbach just a few blocks from The Cave. In March I found out I could extend my assignment in Germany if I wanted to. I did immediately so I didn’t have to worrry about going to Vietnam or goin’ on a Remote Tour plannin’ on gettin’ married. Things went well until late September 1972 when I officially became a “Dear John” via US Mail! I had to go to work that night & spent most of the night on the phone tryin’ to find out why? “I don’t know” was all I could get as an explanation. I told her I’d be there with in 24 hrs! Don’t do anything. I made flight  arrangements, contacted my boss to explain my situation & clear my absence. I arrived 22 hrs later in “The Ham”. Let me just say in 30 days I spoke to her once or twice & we finally saw each other the night before I left ( I think) for only a FEW minutes in front of her house. I returned to Germany mentally hurt & broken hearted. Several months passed, & I spoke with an Ole (female) Friend who let me know what was happenin’ with my Ex. I hung up from our call & heard “I Can See Clearly Now” by Johnny Nash, on the radio, it said it all. My life got back on track. I traveled, I partied, & I enjoyed my life. Too much sometimes. In May of 1973 I had my 1st date with my NOW Bride of 41 yrs. We got married twice! Two days in a row, Jan31 & Feb 1st 1975. Long story there, maybe later. So, if I believed in the readings of “Tea Leaves” there was a reason for me Enlistin’, goin to Germany, extending there, meetin’ & marrin’ My “Military Brat” Bride. Yep, it was meant to be…”Hold’em Hook”!…..BG>

One thought on “My Miliary Career Part#7…”meetin’ My “Military Brat” Bride”.

Leave a Reply

