My Military Career, Part #3…”the door closed & it got REAL”!…

AB JOHN W. Gray, USAF, Basic Training, Lackland AFB, San Antonio, Tx, July 25, 1971
{{{ Homeward Bound ! }}}…now with Boloxi, MS in my rear-view mirror my little Corvair & I were headed for B’ham, AL I have Graduated from Tech School, had my “Orders in Hand” for Ramstein, Germany. I was to report for duty the last week of October, 1971 for a two year assignment. I was headed home for 30 days leave before departing for Germany. What did this mean to me? {{{{{ PARTY !}}}}} for 30 days. I had been gone for 3 months & had a lot to catch up on. Of course when I got home all of my family & many of my Ole Runnin’ Buddies were there to greet me. Parties were lined up almost every night for the 1st week home. Oddly enough I realized many of my Ole Runnin’ Buddies had been faced with very similar situations such as mine. Many of them had Enlisted, either due to the Draft Lottery or Mom & Dad were tired of fundin’em. “Go to College, get a Job, or join the Military were their choices. The Draft was fast on the heels of many others. Some of them got caught up in it & a few “Broke & Ran to Canada by the Dark Of Night” to avoid service for what ever reasons, not knowin’ if or when they would ever be able to return home. Then there were several that caught tryin’ to sneak back home, were arrested, & given choices of Jail or The Army! Most chose The Army when it was put to’em that way. After just a few days home I realized just how much I had changed in just 3 months. My friends & I had different ideas about our futures & direction of our lifes. I found myself sittin’ down and havin’ conversations with my (Step) Dad. He was a Disabled Veteran of WWII, injured in Germany not long after crossin’ the Rhine River. I mean topics I had never heard from him. I realized we had a lot more in common than I could ever have guessed. The days passed quickly. My Ole Girlfriend & I discussed what our future looked like. No real plans were made but were in the slow works category. Well, my Big Day came & it was time to go. We all said our good-bys I made that long walk down the boardin’ ramp. I got seated, the door closed & it got REAL! I’m now “On My Own” headed to meet my Sponsor, Tsgt Elvin, in Frankfurt, Germany. …Hold’em Hook”!…..BG>

5 thoughts on “My Military Career, Part #3…”the door closed & it got REAL”!…

  1. I can’t wait for the next post. They’ve become the highlight of my morning when I get read them. On your own is an understatement! I could never be in the military for many reasons, the first being I can’t stand feeling alone. I almost ended a post I wrote last night using ‘Hold em’ Hook’…it was about fishing lol…of course. I was going to link you in that phrase but wasn’t sure if you wanted all those visitors! Have a great day. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

